Uncategorized

Think on These Things

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things (KJV). 

I don’t watch television much. Other than a few football games (I’m a Green Bay Packers fan) or children’s videos it’s never on. My husband watches it a bit more. Even then, he follows a few shows on Hulu and that’s it. There’s a reason.

Few things can rob my peace faster than the news or many current shows. An agenda is obvious. Sitcoms are off color, full of sexual innuendos, and inappropriate things I don’t want my children viewing. And it seems we are desensitized to the evil and violence in the world. It’s just normal to hear about some awful thing that happened to someone somewhere. Apparently it was decided by the powers that be the definition of news=negativity. Our mind is in a battle and our focus is key. Feelings follow focus. Peace is worth protecting.

3a36e3e0b2ddfb76862aee865c417112--spiritual-development-lovely-things

Social media is another place peace can be taken quickly. Sadly, it seems a few of my Facebook friends have a fascination or perhaps feel compelled to expose/share the current evils of the world. Lots of it. After just a few minutes life seems dark and hopeless. And, it is. But God. Yeshua (Jesus) makes all the difference. Know Him, know peace. No Him, no peace.

Today, I want to encourage you to think about what you’re thinking about. There’s so much darkness out there. Life is full of challenges and details to potentially worry about. Remember Matthew 6:34 Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble (ESV). Don’t worry. Choose to meditate on scripture and positive things.

God’s goodness is everywhere, even in this dark fallen world. There’s much to be thankful for. Stay grateful and keep your focus on Him. God is in control. Let Him worry about the big stuff.

Psalm 56:3-4 ESV When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can flesh do to me?

Psalm 91:2 ESV I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

Isaiah 26:3 ESV You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.

Philippians 4:6 ESV Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Colossians 3:2 ESV Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.

 

Leave a Reply

