Uncategorized

The Shoes Didn’t Fit

1 Corinthians 12:12 For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ (ESV).

There’s lyrics in a song called “Someone Believes in You” by Cindy Morgan that came to mind:

She always wanted to be a dancer
But the shoes just wouldn’t fit
Thought about being an actress
But someone told her she lacked the wit

He always wanted to be a doctor
But the money just wasn’t there
Thought about taking up baseball
But couldn’t find a glove he could wear
And he wanted to be like daddy
But Dad was never there
And now the truth is so hard
‘Cause the truth is he doesn’t care

Oh, don’t you know
Someone believes in you
No matter who you are
No matter what you do
Oh, don’t you know
Whatever you’re going through
He’s got His eye on you
Better believe it’s true
Someone believes in you

These words were playing in my mind and the lyrics I could recall of the song. God led me to 1 Corinthians 12 and began speaking to me clearly. Some of you are feeling depressed and discouraged because you don’t have God’s dream for your life. Elohim, Creator, knew who you were before you existed and you are given talents from Him. The Ruach (Spirit) has entrusted you with giftings. The problem is we take up the world’s dream and label of who we are and should be. Eyes are trying to be ears and hands are trying to be feet etc etc. Or, perhaps we are trying to wear shoes that don’t fit.

photo (1)

My mother liked ballet when she was growing up and was rather good at it. She was taller and had at the time a dancer’s physique. She wanted the same for me. One of the few things she actually really did for me was give me dance lessons as she could afford it. Ballet, tap, and jazz. I hated it. And I was terrible. I was a skinny kid but I’m slightly bow legged and only just under five feet four inches. I am not a dancer. I went to a charter arts school and was good in music and theater. But dance and art were off the table. I have no talent in those areas. Believe me. One day I just refused to go to dance class. I think she realized that the shoes just didn’t fit. She took back the tap shoes. I felt peace. No longer was I being something I’m not. I focused on other things and was happy. My mother thought I needed to do more, be more, or different to be a good kid. I didn’t. That’s how some are living right now.

Today, I want to speak to those who feel a call on their lives yet seem stuck and miserable. It may very well be an issue of timing. But I know there’s someone reading this that God made to be an amazing eye trying to be an ear or mouth. Sometimes we get caught up in envy and insecurity thinking we need to sing like this person or speak like that person. We all have a place in the body. The loving, kind women who are godly in character fulfill a tremendous role. The hardworking “steady” men who faithfully provide are amazing. So many need spiritual mothers and grandmothers. Spiritual fathers and grandfathers.

You are not just a stay-at-home mother or a carpenter. A plumber or secretary. A pastor. Teacher. You are a child of God called to emulate His character and love your neighbor as yourself (see Matthew 22:39). Ask God to show you your giftings and the specific work He has for you. Then trust Him and allow Him to refine you.

Be what you’re called to be. Wear the right shoes.

1 Corinthians 12:14-28 ESV For the body does not consist of one member but of many. If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” that would not make it any less a part of the body. And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” that would not make it any less a part of the body.

If the whole body were an eye, where would be the sense of hearing? If the whole body were an ear, where would be the sense of smell? But as it is, God arranged the members in the body, each one of them, as he chose. If all were a single member, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, yet one body.

The eye cannot say to the hand, “I have no need of you,” nor again the head to the feet, “I have no need of you.” On the contrary, the parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and on those parts of the body that we think less honorable we bestow the greater honor, and our unpresentable parts are treated with greater modesty, which our more presentable parts do not require.

But God has so composed the body, giving greater honor to the part that lacked it, that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together. Now you are the body of Christ and individually members of it.

And God has appointed in the church first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then miracles, then gifts of healing, helping, administrating, and various kinds of tongues.

Leave a Reply

