Uncategorized

Psalm 121

​Psalm 121:1 I will lift up my eyes to the mountains— from where does my help come (TLV)?

Something that has helped me during difficult times is taking well loved passages and putting myself in them. Psalm 121 is one of my favorite chapters in the Bible. Psalm 1, 23, and 91 are also especially cherished of the poetic writings. When life is really tough, I’ve learned to do three things: read scripture, pray, and love others on purpose. The first is where I want to focus today.

Not long ago I found myself in a very painful, difficult circumstance. In the midst of tears I was praying and attempting to read the Word. But, the verses seemed flat and distant. It was as if I was an outsider reading something foreign. The Bible is, in fact, written for us but not necessarily to us (I am not Jewish, a man, or the church of Ephesus, for example). However, there’s spiritual applications throughout. In the above situation, I felt God leading me to personalize what I was reading. I didn’t do that with Psalm 121 then but this is something I’ve done which has brought me much comfort.

Laurel’s paraphrase:

I will lift up my eyes to the mountains-from where does my help come? Laurel’s help comes from Adonai, Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let my foot slip. My Keeper will not slumber. 

My Keeper is Adonai, the Keeper of Israel. He is my shadow at my right hand. The sun will not strike me by day, nor the moon by night. 

Adonai will protect me from all evil. He will guard my life. Adonai will watch over my coming and going from this time forth and forevermore. 

Today, I want to encourage those of you who are hurting and lonely.  Take a Psalm or other verses in the Bible and put your name in there. Be cautious of course, as there are a few places where it wouldn’t be applicable (context is key). The verses in general people memorize and turn to for comfort are usually fine. As you read and say aloud those passages, using your name and I, my, mine etc, realize that the Word is your Creator’s message to you. 

Use the Bible like you would medicine. Have a good concordance handy and say out loud verses that pertain to your need or struggle. Put yourself in them. It is your life, healing, and deliverance. The more you do it, the better you’ll be. It may not immediately fix all of your problems or make life easy, but you’ll have health and peace in the midst of the storm. It will change you. Leave the rest to God.

Psalm 121 TLV A Song of Ascents. I will lift up my eyes to the mountains— from where does my help come? My help comes from Adonai, Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip. Your Keeper will not slumber.

Behold, the Keeper of Israel neither slumbers nor sleeps. Adonai is your Keeper. Adonai is your shadow at your right hand. The sun will not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.

Adonai will protect you from all evil. He will guard your life. Adonai will watch over your coming and your going from this time forth and forevermore.

Leave a Reply

